Please be aware that as the three LMS are becoming one LMS we are updating the website

North East and North Cumbria Local Maternity System

This is North East and North Cumbria Local Maternity System.

Maternity services are provided by:

  1. County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust
  2. North Tees and Hartlepool NHS Foundation Trust
  3. South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  4. Northumbria Health Care NHS Foundation Trust
  5. Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust
  6. Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust
  7. South Tyneside and Sunderland NHS Foundation Trust
  8. County Durham and Darlington Foundation Trust
  9. North Cumbria Integrated Care NHS Foundation

Collectively, delivering over 32,000 births per year.


Facilities may differ by maternity unit. Follow the links below to find out more about the care provided in your local maternity units so you can decide which will suit you best.

  1. James Cook University Hospital
  2. University Hospital of North Tees
  3. Darlington Memorial Hospital
  4. University Hospital of Hartlepool
  5. Friarage Maternity Centre, Midwifery Led Unit 
  6. Berwick MLU
  7. Hexham General Hospital
  8. Hillcrest Alnwick Infirmary
  9. Northumbria Specialist Emergency Care Hospital
  10. Queen Elizabeth Hospital
  11. Royal Victoria Infirmary
  12. South Tyneside District Hospital Midwifery Led Unit
  13. Sunderland Royal Hospital
  14. University Hospital of North Durham 
  15. The Cumberland Infirmary
  16. Penrith Community Hospital
  17. West Cumberland Hospital